Skip to main content
'''Mission of Burma''' is an United States|American post-punk band formed in Boston, Massachusetts in 1979. The band was formed by Roger Miller (rock musician)|Roger Miller (guitar), Clint Conley (bass guitar|bass), Peter Prescott (musician)|Peter Prescott (drum kit|drums) and Martin Swope (tape manipulator/sound engineer). Miller, Conley and Prescott share singing and songwriting duties. In early years the band's recordings were all released on the small Boston-based record label Ace of Hearts Records (Boston)|Ace of Hearts. Despite initial success, Mission of Burma disbanded in 1983 due to Miller's development of tinnitus caused by the volume of the band's live performances. The band released only one album in its original lineup, ''Vs. (Mission of Burma album)|Vs.'' Mission of Burma reformed in 2002, with Bob Weston replacing Swope, and has since recorded four more albums,...
OriginBoston, Massachusetts, United States
GenrePost-punk, indie rock
Years active1979–1983, 2002–present
LabelAce of Hearts Records (Boston)|Ace of Hearts, Matador Records|Matador, Fire Records|Fire
Current membersRoger Miller (rock musician)|Roger Miller
Clint Conley
Peter Prescott (musician)|Peter Prescott
Bob Weston
Past membersMartin Swope
share Share
favorite Favorite
up-solid down-solid